Beginning the Process
If you are planning to file for divorce in Colorado, you will need to familiarize yourself with the divorce requirements in the state. In this blog, learn how to file for divorce in Colorado as well as the steps involved in the process.
To file for divorce in Colorado, you must have resided in the state for at least 90 days prior to filing. If you meet this requirement, you can file your petition for divorce with the clerk of court in the county where you live.
Paperwork and Fees
When you file for divorce in Colorado, you will need to submit several forms to the court. The first form is the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, which starts the divorce process. You will also need to file a summons, which notifies your spouse that you have filed for divorce and gives them information about how to respond. In addition, you will need to complete a financial affidavit, which provides information about your income, assets, and debts.
There is a filing fee for each of these documents, which must be paid when you submit your paperwork to the court. The cost varies by county but is typically around $200. If you cannot afford the fees, you can request a fee waiver from the court.
Service of Process
After you have filed the petition, the next step is to serve your spouse with the paperwork, which is usually done by mailing the documents to your spouse or hiring a process server to deliver them in person. Once your spouse has been served, they need to file a response with the court within 20 days.
If you and your spouse can reach agreements on all issues related to the divorce, you can file the petition jointly. This allows you to bypass the service of process requirements and move directly to filing for divorce.
Get Help from a Divorce Attorney
If you have questions about filing for divorce in Colorado or want to get started, reach out to the team at Law Office of Alexandra White, PC. We can help you begin the divorce process and navigate you through the rest of the way to a fresh start on the other side.
Learn more about divorce in Colorado or schedule a free consultation by calling (303) 647-4245 or by visiting our website.